Chennai Express
I am suffering from bout of depression these
days so trying to distract myself by writing something. Unable to figure out
what to write, I decided to rant about the movies I saw on weekend
Now I would call this a review except I am more interested
in rambling about it randomly rather than making a genuine attempt of reviewing
it.
Spoiler Alert
I would mention
spoiler alert here, However I feel if you have ever seen any hindi movie you already
know the story so need of mentioning the alert.
About the movie:
I think if you are alive and stay
in Hindi speaking part of India then you pretty much know the story and events that
happen in movie either by subconsciously deducing it from the trailer or by
name or just by gut feeling.
As for
story (for lack of better word L)
Its goes like this : Boy meets a girl on train. Girl is being kidnapped or
rather brought back to her hometown by her father’s goon. Father obviously
wants girl to get married to a political ally (another local don) to increase
his power. Girl being in hindi movie had to run away from house. Now that she
is being brought back, she figures it is probably best to lie to her dad that
she wants to get married to this random stranger she met on train. On account of language barrier,
unavailability of google translator and it being hindi movie, guy gets involved
in all mess and before he know he has to fight a guy twice his size to marry a
girl whom he doesn't want to . Anyway story goes on likes this for a while till
they realize they are nearing movie end time and then decide to fall in love
and stay happily for ever.
Movies reminds me of son of sardar, jab we met and may be
100 other movies and ‘2 states’ and ‘Anything for you ma’am’ book it has some
not so novel elements from all these literature
Now let’s go to my favorite Q&A session
Q: How is it different
from 1000’s of other movies we have seen
A: Well it is not actually, but usually we see guy ending up
in closely knit Punjabi family with overprotective father and brothers (a la jab we met, son of sardar ) this time it is closely knit Tamil family with
overprotective father and brothers . Just like in son of sardar family is pretty fond of violence .
Q: How does Shahrukh
khan perform?
A: His performance is actually quite terrible, in a sense
that he does not look his part and always reminds you of him being baadshah of
bollywood. But self deprecating humor makes it works. There is some
satisfaction in seeing a very, rich successful guy in hapless, helpful and
funny situations.
Q: Deepika ?
A: She plays a tamilian and therefore people going to see
her sexy long legs can give it a miss.
Q: Is it a funny movie?
A: I did laugh couple of times in first half of the movie (
I paid 12$ for it , better try to get as many laughs as possible ). Second half
was more of a drag.
Q: Overall, Is it an
entertaining movie?
A: Nothing new, but not as bad as recent SRK movies.
Q: Highlight of the
movie
A: No mention of USA,London,Europe,Australia.. (Finally
something desi J )
North vs South (Actually
it is West vs south of India but whatever) is not something we see daily in hindi
movies. It might be nice idea to actually have movies which people throughout
the country can identify with; south style fights scenes, bollywood actors and
lame humor.
What else ?