Sunday, July 29, 2012

Mid Night Stroll

Since I spent entire day croaked up in room, I decided to take up post midnight stroll . So in partially inebriated state, I started to roam around campus.


I really did not expect to see anyone, however I saw couple of cars coming and going. Also I came across an African American couple who were just so huge and roaming around aimlessly ( very much like me ) that they intimated me and I took a turn about. As I was walking back near my room, I saw a rather pretty girl sitting on pavement wearing shorts and talking on phone. ( Not a very usual sight at 1:30 in the morning )


After a round I thought of sitting on the bench just listening song, perhaps stare at moon. As I am listening to song staring at moon from a leafless brown tree, I hear a noise, could it be someone calling me.Who could call me, I don't know anyone here. I turn around and see a rather big woman approaching me with a decent pace, shouting something incorrigible. I have to tell you, It scared the bejesus out of me. I could make out she wanted me to leave and I did. I also noted she was in tears. After my initial shock wore off , I asked if everything was all right. Because she seemed in tears and hysterical. I asked her couple of times and then thought its best to go back to my room but then as I was walking back, I thought what the hell I can take few rounds around campus and then go back to room. So I decide to walk, and see the African american couple.However they do not seem as scary as the woman and I cross them looking at me suspiciously. I also see the pretty girl still talking on phone.


After few minutes I see someone laying down on the grass, I am too afraid to approach. As cars are coming and going I see one car with its headlight on and a person sitting inside it but not moving.This for me was little to surreal to be happening at 2:00 in night as I decide to walk back to my room I come across a cop . I tell him about the woman lying on the grass and lead him to it.I can see the guy still there in the car, I think about reaching out to cop again.But then think better of it and run back to my room.

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Ma Day -7 24

Since I pretty much do nothing, I thought the least I can do is may be write about doing nothing. Hopefully, one day I'll see futile ways with which I waste my time and I'll be motivated to use my time wisely. This is going to be pretty boring and bland but possibly something which would give me enough sense of achievement that I can at least sleep properly at night.(Yes, my life right now, is that happening )

...

The Morning :

Usually I get up at 7:30 am ish and leave for office at 9:00 am. However, today I got up at 8:40 and caught 9:40 am bus to office ( while taking status call on cell phone ). I checked my mails and realized only other person with whom I share my cubicle is working from home today. ( That never ceases to make me happy ).Precisely at that moment I knew I would not work today. (I guess I do some amount of work just so that my cubicle mate doesn't think I just read blogs and do FB in office ).I found couple of new bloggers to follow and started reading their blog posts. At around 11:20 am I decided that I would work from 2pm-5pm enough time to complete my pending work.

The Friend:

I pinged one of my friend whom I had been meaning to talk since quite some days now. I had promised but not called her in past week (my infamous memory to blame for it ) so she was bit angry well me or well at least pretended to be. She had told me there is a big news she wanted to share but I did not give it much thought.. So now when I pinged her she blurted out that she is getting married this December. Friends now getting married always leaves me speechless and often stunned. I had to call her after that. So we started talking and blaming each other, she blamed me for not calling her and I blamed her for not telling me when got engaged ( although she did not technically get engaged ). Since it was quite spirited talk I was afraid I'd be loud and would have to bear the brunt of  people working around me and so thought of stepping out. Once out, I thought its already time for lunch so should go to some restaurant.(In case you are wondering, Yes, I spend a fortune eating out ). Anyway, I took the bus while on call and got down near 'Taj Palace' (Today I was in mood for Indian food ). Unfortunately I ran out of balance and call got disconnected.

The Video Call  and the Restura:

By this time I was inside the restaurant.I texted her that I am out of balance and we decided to resume conversation later.I than proceeded to eat appetizers.I just had couple of  'Palak Pakoda' and 'Tomato Soup'. Suddenly , one of my friend called and  told me she misses me and hung up after a min.My mom keeps on asking me what I eat everyday, So I thought I can have a video call and show her that I eat awesome food daily. I called my parents via talk app while eating pulav and paneer saag.Talked to them for about half an hour while travelling back to office and even for few mins once I reached my cubicle.When I did disconnect call it was nearly 2:00, So I had one hour to pass before I absolutely had to begin working .

The Office :

While browsing news on rediff, I saw some rather heated discussion on Oprah's comments on India and one thing lead to another and I ended up watching very long videos on youtube.

Article on one of the sites :
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/07/24/oprah-winfrey-india-special-own-criticism_n_1699581.html

Youtube Video :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R223YSZibaA

In all fairness video was pretty bland and straight forward, nothing instigating.

So finally it was 3:45pm and I decided to start working at least now. I tried for couple of mins but then realized I have not read all articles I had opened up. So kept on reading till 4:15 which seemed very inauspicious time to start working . So read Dilbert strips for 15 mins.Finally started working at 4:30 but just after few minutes one of friend from  California called me after long time and we started talking.Again, I thought I was being too loud and decided to step outside. Once outside, I thought 'what the hell ? I can go home' and caught bus for third time in the day while still on call. Only after I came home did I realize that I should have kept my office laptop in the mobile unit or at least locked it. ehh...

Interestingly enough , my galaxy S3 impressed me in video calls via talk app but for some reason works horribly when there is background noise. A cell phone that has every possible thing except good voice calls how very ironic.

The Home :

Came to my hotel room, prepared atta noodles maggi, made some tea, watched tele and started blogging, while watching TBBT on CBS. .I am tiered now..typing so much..so Adios !!



Thursday, July 19, 2012

Ma Day


The Home

Today I got up to a rather slow morning, ( I did everything slow, so it was a slow morning :P) I decided to take more time getting ready and give my morning 9.00 o'clock bus a miss. I had 20 minutes before my meeting and so I tried watching TV, could not find anything that could hook me for 20 minutes so decided to listen music on my cell phone. It felt bit odd listening to songs on phone while at home doing nothing, So after a while I decided to go out and take a walk. Finally ended up boarding bus while on the run and attending status meet on cell phone. I reached office at around 10:00 and waited for my colleague in India to call me back .

The Office

After 2 hours I realized, there would not be any call. So I passed  time chatting on Gtalk , reading blogs, articles on Forbes. I completed whatever work I could and decided to leave at 5:00 pm. I was in my usual  melancholic and bummed out state when it suddenly hit me, I should be happy that I went to office at 10 and came back at 5:00 after working for about 2 hours.

The Home

Anyway so when I came to my hotel room I thought I should may be do something else instead of  watching TV as usual.So I opened my laptop and started looking for places I can go to. I found a good bakery but it was a mile away and there was no bus for another hour.But I was not ready to give up, So I decided to at least go to front desk roam around for few mins,walk a little and then come back.I went to front desk told him two lamps in my room were not working , took some change for laundry and headed out for a walk. While walking I decided to finally go to tat bakery.

The Bakery

Assisted by Google maps on S3 :d I reached bakery. It was a nice little place but kind of place where you walk in knowing what you would eat. But I was not sure so I took my time browsing  through menu and the attendee hat to ask me couple of time 'are you ready sir?' , making me feel kinda stupid .I decided to go  with Cinnamon bun and a cold lemonade. When asked whether 'to go' or here I said 'here'. Then I saw 'Veggie Burger' and I thought what the hell not many places serve good veggie burger I might as well try it for dinner . So I told her ,I will also have a 'Veggie Burger to go' .What I meant was 'Lemonade and Cinnamon Bun '  for  'here' and 'Burger' as 'to go'. What she heard was just 'To Go' so she made me a cinnamon bun and lemonade 'to go' . I walked outside with Cinnamon Bun and Lemonade and thinking WTH  am I doing outside @ 100 f degree  walking with cinnamon bun and lemonade. Of course I could not go inside now, it would be too embarrassing.There was no way I could walk a mile holding those things. So I walked little found a nice little pavement and sat there and started eating like a Bum :). I decided to sit on my handkerchief which was of course a big mistake because if you have ever eaten a cinnamon bun you would know how sticky it is.You want to have kerchief nearby .I did manage to complete it in spite of few prying eyes.

The Road ,The Bus and The Road

Now the heat had increased even more and was getting to me, So I decided to go other way and wait for buy instead of walking back. I waited for 10 minutes ( I could probably have walked back to room in 15 mins ), finally got on bus and on next signal I realize there is a super market there and I could use milk and bread. So just before the bus is about to start I rush out through the door . I get my milk and bread and head out just after walking 20 yards or so. The head really hits me, I feel dehydrated, I think I won't be walk to my room ,knowing I am badly out of shape so much that walking 500 meters in sun reminds me of my great great grandmother whom I never knew. At one point I seriously think I am going to either faint on the road and end up in hospital or throw my milk at bystander and just go plain crazy.Finally I do make it to my hotel room.

The Room

So from bright sunny, monstrous summer I walk into my cold ,dark (remember broken lamps), untidy yet comforting room. I take a shower, turn on TV and start writing a blog post.


PS .I tried to review and correct it, but it was so incredibly big and boring that I had to leave it half way.If you have managed to read it even half way, congratulate yourself for you have increased patience to crap today. Peace Out

Wednesday, July 4, 2012

Raat ko barah baje

Its 2:00 am and I have had couple of pegs of Red Label, well perhaps more than couple and one freshly made peg is right besides me.

I am sitting under stars, but I cannot see them :(. May be it will rain tomorrow. But I can see the moon .I am sitting on bench near my room with a glass of red label in my hand typing my blog on my laptop.

It is kind of scary crows are making weird sound they make, there is a far of sound of a cricket and I get a feeling that  someone will creep up behind me and bash my head.

This is something I would not have ever imagined , me blogging at 2:00 in the night outside my room on  a bench partially inebriated .

I want to call someone, but I don't know whom, everyone would be busy .

Gentle breeze blew by, I don't know whats missing in this equation, perhaps a company perhaps nothing.

Monday, July 2, 2012

Ma Lyf


~~


I used to walk to my office ,which is about a mile away from my hotel.  But then it was getting very hot (>100f) so I started searching for alternate mode of transport,Sure enough I found a bus which leaves me very near to my office. But I had to walk for about 8 minutes to reach the bus stop, after first day I realized bus stop is exactly behind my hotel but due to the fences around my hotel I have to walk around it. So at night I took a stroll to find a chink in the Armour(fence) .I did, one of the vertical steel bar was broken and left just enough space me to squeeze in. So now every morning I get up ,get ready and try and squeeze through small space in fence much to amusement of people jogging there...
~~
So I usually catch 9o'clock bus and reach office by 9.15. However one day I was reading a book by P.G.Wodehouse and I got little engrossed in it,Missed my stop and realized it only at 9:30. I had to eventually walk more than I would have from my hotel to office.grrr..May be I suffer from ADD 


!!


When I had the project, my immediate lead was fired and now today,I completed nearly a month in the project and our manager and only point of contact between business and technology quit the company. Can't take credit for everything but well I do some weird aura around me.


!!


My office accesses are disabled today, So although I have work I cannot do anything today (yipeee).Hence the blogging. Today, I got to know my manager quitting, my extension in project has some issues and I missed a call from my account manager which leads me to believe more travel might be there in my future .Sigh .


!!


Now I have been living alone for more than 2 months.Now I am in city where I don't have single friend or good mode of commutation.Makes me wanna buy car, but I don't want the additional overhead and having to go through headache of getting a license here...lets see..


!!


I saw videos for Google glasses and it nearly gave me goose bumps. I do every now and then get excited about technology.It makes me say 'Future is here'


!!


Its funny, although I have been here for more than a year now, I have never really interacted much with people who were born and brought up in US(typically ,whites ). Only now did I get to introduced to couple of them and although I won't be interacting with them on daily basis this is a small work place and there fore I happen to see them occasionally. The weird part is one of them greeted me 'Good Morning Jigar' and for love of God, I could not remember who he was. Its almost as if all Caucasians and whites look alike to me. He could have been anyone. I know all of them don't look alike, but I sure had hard time differentiating him from 3 guys I was introduced to.


!!


I cannot remember any single occasion in last three years when I would have worn formal clothes on Friday.Reason being, my company allowed me casuals on Friday and so did my client. However this friday I was wearing a perfectly ironed blue stripped shirt with a formal trouser. Reason...?. It isn't that my current client doesn't allow me casuals on Friday.It is that my current client allows me casuals on all days. It weird, that now that I have freedom to wear casual through out the week, I did not feel bad about wearing formals on Fridays.


Sometimes, you like something (want it more) only because it is limited to you in the first place.


Anyway, Reason I wore formals 4 out of 5 days on weekday was because all my casual clothes required washing :P


!!