Wednesday, November 10, 2010

EGO - ?

If you know me ,you would have safely assumed by now that I have a bloated ego,which I would not deny (for time being)...Needless to say I have heard more than couple of times tat I have an inflated ego or that I am very rude bla bla..However one recent incident helped me introspect myself better...

It all came up when I was invited to one of my friend's wedding..It was suppose to be sort of cool grand reunion for my class mates..

It was day before wedding and I was travelling with one of my other classmate..and she was so excited about the wedding..she started discussing what gift to buy and where we would meet n all ,before I broke it to her that I would not be coming to the wedding .After punching me in shoulder she let me explain that I was not personally invited ..I had just got a mail..( not a personal one either :P )..She understood my point but insisted I come..needless to say I did not go..and it was a fair event and everyone had a galla time...


So ask my other friend how was it and she told me queerest thing..she said it was fun and all but 'dude' said that you were the only one who did not come..everyone else had come..

I was bit taken aback by that..I had not expected him to notice that or even expect me there ..Anyway I explained to her also why I did not go to the wedding..and she iterated the thing I have been hearing for quite some time now .."you big ego headed doofus.."..Later I came to know he was very busy on wedding prep and he had not actually called many people..all of them were invited through the same mail that I had received ..and as usual I was the only one to interpret it in different manner..


On more introspection I realized its not (issue )that I have a gigantic ego (which I may or may not ) its that I have an even bigger inferiority complex..

I automatically assume that I may not be needed or desired there..it is just the social obligation that I got the invitation..

This is a big break through for me,realizing its not my ego it has always been my inferiority complex..


So to all of you ( who would not be reading muhahaha ..) the reason I did not come on your stupid awesome trip..or to your wedding or to you house warming party or that I do not socialize with you..its all because of my inferiority complex..Which I agree is bad but unlike as in earlier case..I cannot be held responsible for it..I mean I can be..but this mean that Its not that I make others suffer because of my ego its that I choose to suffer coz of my complex.

ps : lost train of thoughts..I had something more to write
pps :he wan't very close friend ..I have missed wedding of much closer friends for abs no reason..:P so not exactly repenting or anything

Sunday, November 7, 2010

Catcher in the Rye..A classic ?

Had heard rave reviews about it..Did not find it that great..

I mean catch -22 wins out on nearly all account when compared against Catcher in the Rye..


'+'

* Nice writing Style
* Has tendency to make you bit reckless yourself ..( lbeing less worried abt something can b positive :) )
* Gets you inside Protagonist's mind.

'-'

*Not much to take out of it
*No story as such..

: Marriage :

Yes ,I am in tht age when my parents have started asking me about my marriage plans.
Here is the advice given to me by some of my close relatives


Ketan (My maternal second uncle ) :

Do not get married before you are 29 or 30, have atleast 2-3 girlfriends before you get married..then once you start understanding girls then select one and settle down with her..I am repenting marrying your aunt ..My ex was just so more beautiful and now that I am married and father of two children she wants to get back with me..So wait for all your passions to die out before marrying


Mahesh ( My paternal Uncle ) :

If you elope and marry ..I'll give you 50,001 Rupees :-)


Bhavin ( My maternal Uncle ) :

Don't you worry..tell me about her doesn't matter if she is Christan or Maharastrian or Punjaban..

at this point my Grandfather interjects : No Islam followers please

Bhavin :No even that won't be problem..just bring her provided you love her..I'll make everyone accept her :P


=========================================

At one point ,I realized no body actually expects me to have an arranged marriage .So given my personality and social aptitude ..seems I am damned to be bachelor through out my life .

Cheers to that thought :)
Me in Pune ,Parents in Mumbai on Dec 31st 2009

<11:00 pm>
Mom : Where r you ?
Me :hmm outside having dinner with friends

Mom : so whats the plan
Me :

Mom :where are you
Me : MG Road


Mom : hmm..thats good place also go to KP it would have few open air parties that you join impromptu..they would go on till 4:00 in the morning and you can stay out entire night..would be fun..but make sure u r at least 8-10 ppl in group..

Me : ..hmm ok..


PS: sadly ,enough due to overt security restrictions last year there were no open air parties post midnight

CoOl ?

If you know me,You prolly have realized that I am no biker boy ..I am not that bad boy neither do I have that machismo to carry that look..

So till now my only defense when someone asked me 'why I don't have bike '
was that my parents don't allow it..

One of my friend even suggested that I should buy an Activa and why it was a sound decision ..

I had still not decided if I would be buying Activa..so anyways I get ready to pitch the Idea to parents ( but individually that way I can tackle their concenrs and not let them gang up on me )

So

Me : Mom,m thinking of buying a bike..If oyu live in puen you ought to have you own vehicle
Mom :Yeah I now ,let me know if you are short of cash or anything .

That was one Whoa

Me : Dad, new ,bike, me, thinking
Dad : you should have got one last year anyway go for Honda's bike ...good engines and good service..


SO now I don't have reason to not buy a bike...I might just have to giving in to buying one ..

Possible ?

One far out benefit of getting sick is that there is possibility you may shed your weight a bit..

But trust your awesome mom to take even that away from you !!


In 6 days I have been not well and 4 days that I stayed at home ,I seemed to hve gained 2 kgs :D